ACT-SAT Prep Course & Schedules

Starting at Gwynedd Mercy College in January 2019!

 

Winter I Session

December 2 – January 25

At Muhlenberg College

Class #1: Sunday, Dec 2, 9 am – Noon
Class #2: Wednesday, Dec 5, 6 – 9 pm
Class #3: Sunday, Dec 9, 9 am – Noon
Class #4: Wednesday, Dec 12, 6 – 9 pm
Class #5: Sunday, Dec 16, 9 am – 3:30 pm*
Class #6: Sunday, Jan 6, 9 am – Noon
Class #7: Wednesday, Jan 9, 6 – 9 pm
Class #8: Sunday, Jan 13, 9 am – 3:30 pm*
Class #9: Wednesday, Jan 16, 6 – 9 pm
Class #10: Sunday, Jan 20, 9 am – 3:30 pm*
Class #11: Wednesday, Jan 23, 6 – 9 pm
ACT Brush up: Friday, Feb 8, 6 – 9 pm

SAT Brush up: Friday, Mar 8, 6 – 9 pm

* These classes run until 3:30 to accommodate diagnostic testing.
Please note: We will NOT have classes over the Xmas break
 

Winter II Session

January 27 – March 8

At Muhlenberg College

Class #1: Sunday, Jan 27, 9 am – Noon
Class #2: Wednesday, Jan 30, 6 – 9 pm
Class #3: Sunday, Feb 3, 9 am – Noon
Class #4: Wednesday, Feb 6, 6 – 9 pm
Class #5: Sunday, Feb 10, 9 am – 3:30 pm*
Class #6: Wednesday, Feb 13, 6 – 9 pm
Class #7: Wednesday, Feb 20, 6 – 9 pm
Class #8: Sunday, Feb 24, 9 am – 3:30 pm*
Class #9: Wednesday, Feb 27, 6 – 9 pm
Class #10: Sunday, Mar 3, 9 am – 3:30 pm*
Class #11: Wednesday, Mar 6, 6 – 9 pm
ACT Brush up: Friday, Feb 8, 6 – 9 pm

SAT Brush up: Friday, Mar 8, 6 – 9 pm

* These classes run until 3:30 to accommodate diagnostic testing.

At Gwynedd Mercy College

Class #1: Saturday, Jan 26, 9 am – Noon
Class #2: Monday, Jan 28, 6 – 9 pm
Class #3: Saturday, Feb 2, 9 am – Noon
Class #4: Monday, Feb 4, 6 – 9 pm
Class #5: Saturday, Feb 9, 9 am – 3:30 pm*
Class #6: Monday, Feb 11, 6 – 9 pm
Class #7: Monday, Feb 18, 6 – 9 pm
Class #8: Saturday, Feb 23, 9 am – 3:30 pm*
Class #9: Monday, Feb 27, 6 – 9 pm
Class #10: Saturday, Mar 2, 9 am – 3:30 pm*
Class #11: Tuesday, Mar 5, 6 – 9 pm
Class #12: Thursday, Mar 7, 6 – 9 pm

* These classes run until 3:30 to accommodate diagnostic testing.

The Basics

  • Base tuition is $999.
  • A $150 host-school discount is available for students from CB South, Easton, Emmaus, Freedom, Lehigh Valley Academy, Liberty, LVCSA, Moravian Academy, Nazareth, North Penn, Northampton, Northern Lehigh, NW Lehigh, Palisades, Phillipsburg, Salisbury, Saucon Valley, and Wilson. 
  • If another Prepare family has referred you, please include their name in the comments section at the bottom of the enrollment form.
  • For Winter II ONLY, a $50 ‘new site’ discount will apply to all students who enroll in our new Gwynedd Mercy location. Students from CB South and North Penn receive a host-school $150 discount, instead.
  • Academic-year sessions run three hours twice a week, a weekend morning and a weekday evening for six consecutive weeks. Three of the weekend days run 6.5 hours to accommodate both the class and diagnostic test. Lunch is provided.
  • Single-day brush up classes for official ACT and SAT tests are included at no extra cost.
  • To enroll or simply indicate your interest, without obligation, please go to our enrollment page.

The Details

  • I strongly suggest that students not take the class when they are heavily involved in a job, a sport, a show, or some other time-consuming activity.
  • Students cannot miss the first class or any two classes for any reason. This policy is not intended to give students one free absence but to allow for one unexpected absence due to illness or family emergency. Students who accumulate two full absences for any reason will be asked to leave and re-start the class in a subsequent session.
  • Students who are tardy or miss class hurt their own progress and set a bad example for the rest of the kids, so being tardy or leaving early (0-15 minutes) counts for half-an-absence. Missing more than 15 minutes of a class constitutes a full absence.
  • Students who miss class are expected to pro-actively contact me for their homework and arrange to make up any quizzes.
  • Students will typically have 1.5-2 hours of homework for each class. This is not “busy” work, but material that requires their full concentration, so homework is graded more on how it is done rather than on whether a given answer is correct or not. In other words, the point of the homework is to get students used to the process of thinking through questions, not just circling answers.
  • Students must maintain a homework/quiz grade of at least 80%; if they do not, I will notify their parents. If they continue to submit incomplete or improperly done homework, I may ask them to leave the class and start over in a subsequent session.
  • While I believe in hard work, I like to keep my class entertaining and sometimes digress from the SAT and ACT to discuss movies, video games, current events, etc. Most of the students enjoy these ‘side trips’ as a welcome diversion during a long class; indeed, if you read my testimonials, you’ll see that this is one of the chief attractions of my class. However, this approach doesn’t fit all sizes; so if, after the first or second class, you find that my teaching style is not a good fit for you, you can withdraw with a pro-rated refund: your full tuition minus the small fraction of the session that you have attended–and no cancellation fee. After that point, however, you should be familiar with the way the class works so any cancellations between class #3 and #5, inclusive, also come with a $100 cancellation fee.
  • From class #6 onward, no refunds will be issued, but students can return to start over in subsequent sessions at no extra charge. Indeed, students are always welcome to attend future classes for free as long as they adhere to the policy for returning students.

PLEASE PHONE 610-730-4876 FOR MORE INFORMATION